About the Alan Turing Institute

The Alan Turing Institute with headquarters at the British Library, London, was created in 2015 as the national centre of excellence for data science and artificial intelligence.

The Institute is named in honour of Alan Turing (23 June 1912 – 7 June 1954), whose pioneering work in theoretical and applied mathematics, engineering and computing are considered to be the key disciplines comprising the fields of data science and artificial intelligence.

Five universities – Cambridge, Edinburgh, Oxford, UCL and Warwick – and the UK Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council founded the The Alan Turing Institute in 2015. Eight new universities – Leeds, Manchester, Newcastle, Queen Mary University of London, Birmingham, Exeter, Bristol, and Southampton – joined the Institute in 2018.
The Institute undertakes research which tackles some of the biggest challenges in science, society and the economy.

The Institute collaborates with universities, businesses and public and third sector organisations to apply this research to real-world problems, with lasting effects for science, the economy, and the world we live in.

The Alan Turing Institute is helping to make the UK the best place in the world for data science and AI research, collaboration, and business.

Click here to find out more about the governance of the Alan Turing Institute and read its latest reports.

Alan Mathison Turing, 1930